Christmas Calendar, day #16

December 16th, track 16: Exploding Head by Equally Stupid

Pauli Lyytinen and Siggi Rögnvaldsson with David Meier are releasing a new album early in 2017 (so look out for that one!). Meanwhile, please enjoy the oping track of their first album. The CD pressing was sold out (sic!) during the tour in 2014 but fortunately downloads are still available. Very much suitable for jazz and rock / prog rock fans everywhere.

Christmas Calendar, day #8

December 8th, track 8: Kauhukakara – Casino-Seal

With the relase of their second album the quartet Kauhukakara returned to the Scandinavian jazz scene with the brilliant theme album based of the musical profiles of animals. The gazelle, the cow, the beaver and so on. All animals here are treated with expert care and humorous wit.

Christmas Calendar, day #6

December 6th, track 6: DEFEKT – Pete’s Game Machine

Saxophonist Pauli Lyytinen and guitarist Sigurdur Rögnvaldsson originally formed the group Laser back in 2008. After that group split they continued to work together and that work is still going on in their latest group, the trio Equally Stupid. Between these projects Lyytinen and Rögnvaldsson played in the quartet DEFEKT and released their only album to date.

The title track to the “Pete’s Game Machine” album presents the groups quirky fusion of jazz, surf rock and video game music.

To download the track, click ‘buy’ and enter ‘0’ to download for free.

Christmas Calendar, day #3

December 3rd, track #3: “Under Ground” by Elifantree

Elifantree have, since their debut in 2010, risen in status. They are now considered by many to be one of the most ambitious and innovative pop/jazz groups in Finland. Their sound has changed quite a lot by their third album “Movers and Shakers”, released in 2015. More changes came their way with the departure of their original drummer Tatu Rönkkö. Olavi Louhivuori replaced Tatu in February 2016 giving the band a new boost of creative energy. A new album is in the works.

Meanwhile, please enjoy the first track of their debut album!

Pauli Lyytinen – sax
Anni Egecioglu – vocals
Tatu Rönkkö – drums

Christmas Calendar, day #2

December 2nd, track #2: “…ja hän heräsi Petroskoista” by Laser.

As the second track in our Christmas Calendar Eclipse Music presents the international group Laser. Again we have Pauli Lyytinen (from Finland) playing saxophone, Swedish drummer Andreas Werliin, bassist Jo Berger Myhre from Norway and Icelandic guitarist Sigurdur Rögnvaldson. The group was formed when the members of the band were all studying music in Gothenburg, Sweden.

The track “…ja hän heräsi Petroskoista” (…and He Woka Up In Petroskoi) is the opening track of the album. Pauli Lyytinen re-recorded the song for his recent solo album Pauli Lyytinen Machinery as a piece for solo saxophone and live electronics. A lively piece with an excellent rocking groove.

Christmas Calendar, day #1

Welcome to the Eclipse Music Christmas Calendar 2016!

The idea here that each day from now until Christmas Eve, the 24th, Eclipse Music will share a free piece of music from our back catalogue for you to enjoy and to download to your computer or mobile device.

The credit for this idea goes to my son. Thank you, Onni!

December 1st, track 1: “Pulkkamäessä” by Kauhukakara.

I thought it would be appropriate to begin with a track from the very first album Eclipse Music released in 2008. The band Kauhukakara is Pauli Lyytinen (sax), Anni Egecioglu (vocals) – the power duo of Elifantree – Joonas Kuusisto (bass) and Tuomas Turunen (keyboards). Their music is a quirky combination of jazz, chamber music, children’s music and avant garde, but always with an approachable, melodic surface.

The track here, called “Pulkkamäessä”, when translated from Finnish, means Sled Riding. A very appropriate beginning for the winter time. Enjoy!

Equally Stupid tours Finland!

The highly energetic jazz-prog trio from Finland, Iceland and Switzerland are back with the second part of their Expoding Head Tour. Here are the dates and please enjoy a preview below.

Pauli Lyytinen – sax / Sigurdur Rögnvaldsson – baritone guitar / David Meier – drums

18.09. Hanko, Pub Grönan, 9 PM, free entrance
19.09. Kuopio, Musiikkikeskus, Jazzklubi, 9.30 PM, 15/10 €
25.09. Helsinki, Kansallisteatteri, Lavaklubi, 9 PM, 15/10 €
26.09. Tampere, Telakka, AMC-klubi, 9 PM, alk. 10 €
27.09. Joensuu, Teatteriravintolan Terassi, 9.30 PM, 15/10/6 €


Listen to the album here:

Preview the live show here:

Prog and jazz meet in Equally Stupid’s new album “Exploading Head”

Sax virtuoso Pauli Lyytinen, better known for his work in pop-jazz trio Elifantree, joins up with Laser and DEFEKT guitarist Siggi Rögnvaldsson and Swiss drummer David Meier to form Equally Stupid. This powerful trio combines the raw energy and compositional styles of early King Crimson and jazz improvisation.

Equally Stupid celebrates the release of the new album (out February 19th) with a Finnish Tour.

Tour Dates:

19.02. Lahti: Ravintola Torvi
20.02. Jyväskylä: Poppari
21.02. Turku: Flame Jazz (Jazzklubi Monk)
22.02. Pori: Palmgren-sali
26.02. Helsinki: Rytmihäiriöklubi (Juttutupa)

Equally Stupid: Exploding Head
Eclipse Music (release date: 19.2.2014)
1. Ezploding Head / 2. The Gist of It / 3. Cosmic Ray / 4. Towards the Edge / 5. Lost Psalm from Savo / 6. Deserted Paradise / 7. Turkish Robbery / 8. Disbelief

Pre-order here:

Dramophone: Urban Ritual out on October 3rd

Perhaps better known for his drumming in Elifantree Tatu Rönkkö is tha mastermind behind this progressive jazz quartet. Dramophone’s debut album Urbal Ritual is out in Finland on October 3rd. The release is supported by a tour. Along with mr. Rönkkö the group features Pauli Lyytinen (sax), Otto Eskelinen (bass clarinet) and Eero Tikkanen (bass).

Tour dates:

26.09 Juttutupa, Helsinki 21:00
27.09 Telakka, Tampere (Black Motor klubi) 21:00
28.09 Dna Jazz-klubi, Kuopio 21:00
29.09 Vimma, Turku 20:00
30.09 Bar Soho, Porvoo 21:00
03.10 Digelius, Helsinki 18:00

Dramophone-Urban ritual PRESS RELEASE here

A series of very good reviews for Elifantree

Elifantree’s success continues among music critics. Recent reviews include publications such as, and Soundi Magazine.

Both Soundi and gave the album “Time Out” 4 stars.

Read reviews here: