Christmas Calendar, days 18-24

Very sorry about the delay here. Keeping up with this calendar when, at the same time, completing all other work that had to be done before Christmas Eve turned out to be an impossible task. I’m sure you all understand 😉

In any case, I decided to release the remaining songs of this musical calendar in one post as a sort of pre-Christmas gift to everyone following these blog posts.

So please enjoy the remaining tracks! Lots of great music here.

Merry Christmas everyone! There’s lots of exciting new music coming up in 2017. Stay tuned!

Peace, brothers and sisters!

– Tapio

Track 18 – Layers by Elifantree

Track 19 – Waiting by Johanna Elina

Track 20 – Unicorn Attack by Njet Njet 9

Track 21 – Elegy Time by Esa Pietilä

Track 22 – Unseen Axis by Mikko Innanen & Simo Laihonen

Track 23 – Ozin de by Trio Toffa

Track 24 – The Day Grew Small by Quartet Ajaton

Christmas Calendar, day #3

December 3rd, track #3: “Under Ground” by Elifantree

Elifantree have, since their debut in 2010, risen in status. They are now considered by many to be one of the most ambitious and innovative pop/jazz groups in Finland. Their sound has changed quite a lot by their third album “Movers and Shakers”, released in 2015. More changes came their way with the departure of their original drummer Tatu Rönkkö. Olavi Louhivuori replaced Tatu in February 2016 giving the band a new boost of creative energy. A new album is in the works.

Meanwhile, please enjoy the first track of their debut album!

Pauli Lyytinen – sax
Anni Egecioglu – vocals
Tatu Rönkkö – drums

Christmas Calendar, day #1

Welcome to the Eclipse Music Christmas Calendar 2016!

The idea here that each day from now until Christmas Eve, the 24th, Eclipse Music will share a free piece of music from our back catalogue for you to enjoy and to download to your computer or mobile device.

The credit for this idea goes to my son. Thank you, Onni!

December 1st, track 1: “Pulkkamäessä” by Kauhukakara.

I thought it would be appropriate to begin with a track from the very first album Eclipse Music released in 2008. The band Kauhukakara is Pauli Lyytinen (sax), Anni Egecioglu (vocals) – the power duo of Elifantree – Joonas Kuusisto (bass) and Tuomas Turunen (keyboards). Their music is a quirky combination of jazz, chamber music, children’s music and avant garde, but always with an approachable, melodic surface.

The track here, called “Pulkkamäessä”, when translated from Finnish, means Sled Riding. A very appropriate beginning for the winter time. Enjoy!

Prog and jazz meet in Equally Stupid’s new album “Exploading Head”

Sax virtuoso Pauli Lyytinen, better known for his work in pop-jazz trio Elifantree, joins up with Laser and DEFEKT guitarist Siggi Rögnvaldsson and Swiss drummer David Meier to form Equally Stupid. This powerful trio combines the raw energy and compositional styles of early King Crimson and jazz improvisation.

Equally Stupid celebrates the release of the new album (out February 19th) with a Finnish Tour.

Tour Dates:

19.02. Lahti: Ravintola Torvi
20.02. Jyväskylä: Poppari
21.02. Turku: Flame Jazz (Jazzklubi Monk)
22.02. Pori: Palmgren-sali
26.02. Helsinki: Rytmihäiriöklubi (Juttutupa)

Equally Stupid: Exploding Head
Eclipse Music (release date: 19.2.2014)
1. Ezploding Head / 2. The Gist of It / 3. Cosmic Ray / 4. Towards the Edge / 5. Lost Psalm from Savo / 6. Deserted Paradise / 7. Turkish Robbery / 8. Disbelief

Pre-order here:

Anni Elif Egecioglu and the Augur Ensemble

Anni Elif Egecioglu (of Elifantree and Kauhukakara) and the Augur Ensemble are touring Finland from March 22nd to the 26th, playing shows in Loviisa, Turku and Helsinki.

Their debut album will be available through Eclipse Music in April. More information about the album soon. Here are the tour dates and info:

22.3. at 9.00PM, Turku, Monk Jazzclub
23.3. at 7.00PM, Loviisa, Keskus Centralen

26.3. at 7.00PM, Helsinki, Laulumiehet


Fabian Müller (CH) – piano
Eirik Dœrsdal (NO) – trumpet
Simon Heggendorn (CH) – violin
Anni Elif Egecioglu (SE)- cello, vocals
Kaspan von Grünigen (CH) – bass
Oyvind Hegg-Lunde (NO) – drums


Dramophone: Urban Ritual out on October 3rd

Perhaps better known for his drumming in Elifantree Tatu Rönkkö is tha mastermind behind this progressive jazz quartet. Dramophone’s debut album Urbal Ritual is out in Finland on October 3rd. The release is supported by a tour. Along with mr. Rönkkö the group features Pauli Lyytinen (sax), Otto Eskelinen (bass clarinet) and Eero Tikkanen (bass).

Tour dates:

26.09 Juttutupa, Helsinki 21:00
27.09 Telakka, Tampere (Black Motor klubi) 21:00
28.09 Dna Jazz-klubi, Kuopio 21:00
29.09 Vimma, Turku 20:00
30.09 Bar Soho, Porvoo 21:00
03.10 Digelius, Helsinki 18:00

Dramophone-Urban ritual PRESS RELEASE here

A series of very good reviews for Elifantree

Elifantree’s success continues among music critics. Recent reviews include publications such as, and Soundi Magazine.

Both Soundi and gave the album “Time Out” 4 stars.

Read reviews here: