Christmas Calendar, day #8

December 8th, track 8: Kauhukakara – Casino-Seal

With the relase of their second album the quartet Kauhukakara returned to the Scandinavian jazz scene with the brilliant theme album based of the musical profiles of animals. The gazelle, the cow, the beaver and so on. All animals here are treated with expert care and humorous wit.

Christmas Calendar, day #7

December 7th, track 7: Kari Ikonen & Karikko – Harmaja

Currently touring around the world with his Kari Ikonen Trio, pianist Kari Ikonen was nominated in 2012 for the prestigious Teosto-award and was named Jazz Musician of the Year in 2013.

This track comes from the Teosto-award nominated album “The Helsinski Suite”.

Christmas Calendar, day #6

December 6th, track 6: DEFEKT – Pete’s Game Machine

Saxophonist Pauli Lyytinen and guitarist Sigurdur Rögnvaldsson originally formed the group Laser back in 2008. After that group split they continued to work together and that work is still going on in their latest group, the trio Equally Stupid. Between these projects Lyytinen and Rögnvaldsson played in the quartet DEFEKT and released their only album to date.

The title track to the “Pete’s Game Machine” album presents the groups quirky fusion of jazz, surf rock and video game music.

To download the track, click ‘buy’ and enter ‘0’ to download for free.

Christmas Calendar, day #5

December 5th, track 5: Juhani Valkama (with Tapio Ylinen) – Paska Jätkä

Songwriter Juhani Valkama writes acerbic songs about us poor human beings facing the impossebilities of life. This song is no exception, with the title referring to “a shitty person”. Fellow songwriter Tapio Ylinen plays a Mark Knopfler-esque guitar solo on this track.

Christmas Calendar, day #4

December 4th, track #4: “Alkusoitto” from the musical “Väkivaltamusikaali” by Tampereen Ylioppilasteatteri

Music composed by Juhani Valkama.

When “The Violence Musical” for premiered in the fall of 2008 it was called “the theatre event of the season in Tampere”. The topical musical dealt with different aspects of war, peace and violence with a powerful stage production and beautiful, melodic rock music.

The regime of Vladimir Putin receives its fair share of critique. Unfortunately these themes are as topical as ever, now almost ten years later.

Christmas Calendar, day #3

December 3rd, track #3: “Under Ground” by Elifantree

Elifantree have, since their debut in 2010, risen in status. They are now considered by many to be one of the most ambitious and innovative pop/jazz groups in Finland. Their sound has changed quite a lot by their third album “Movers and Shakers”, released in 2015. More changes came their way with the departure of their original drummer Tatu Rönkkö. Olavi Louhivuori replaced Tatu in February 2016 giving the band a new boost of creative energy. A new album is in the works.

Meanwhile, please enjoy the first track of their debut album!

Pauli Lyytinen – sax
Anni Egecioglu – vocals
Tatu Rönkkö – drums

Christmas Calendar, day #2

December 2nd, track #2: “…ja hän heräsi Petroskoista” by Laser.

As the second track in our Christmas Calendar Eclipse Music presents the international group Laser. Again we have Pauli Lyytinen (from Finland) playing saxophone, Swedish drummer Andreas Werliin, bassist Jo Berger Myhre from Norway and Icelandic guitarist Sigurdur Rögnvaldson. The group was formed when the members of the band were all studying music in Gothenburg, Sweden.

The track “…ja hän heräsi Petroskoista” (…and He Woka Up In Petroskoi) is the opening track of the album. Pauli Lyytinen re-recorded the song for his recent solo album Pauli Lyytinen Machinery as a piece for solo saxophone and live electronics. A lively piece with an excellent rocking groove.

Christmas Calendar, day #1

Welcome to the Eclipse Music Christmas Calendar 2016!

The idea here that each day from now until Christmas Eve, the 24th, Eclipse Music will share a free piece of music from our back catalogue for you to enjoy and to download to your computer or mobile device.

The credit for this idea goes to my son. Thank you, Onni!

December 1st, track 1: “Pulkkamäessä” by Kauhukakara.

I thought it would be appropriate to begin with a track from the very first album Eclipse Music released in 2008. The band Kauhukakara is Pauli Lyytinen (sax), Anni Egecioglu (vocals) – the power duo of Elifantree – Joonas Kuusisto (bass) and Tuomas Turunen (keyboards). Their music is a quirky combination of jazz, chamber music, children’s music and avant garde, but always with an approachable, melodic surface.

The track here, called “Pulkkamäessä”, when translated from Finnish, means Sled Riding. A very appropriate beginning for the winter time. Enjoy!